Local body polls: Cong wins 105, BJP 60 Cong wins only two seats in CM’s home turf

IMPHAL, Jan 15: Although Congress party has won 105 Municipal Council and Nagar Panchayat Councillors’ seats, the ruling party could win only two seats in Thoubal Municipal Council which is a part of the home constituency of Chief Minister O Ibobi. With the counting of votes going on till the time of filing this report, BJP has won 60 seats, LJP four, CPI two while independent candidates have secured 85 seats. Notably, polling for the election of 269 Councillors and 394 Ward Development Committee (WDC) Members was held on January 11. Out of the total 18 Councillor seats of Thoubal Municipal Council, independent candidates won 16 seats while the remaining two were secured by Congress. Congress party won five seats in Lilong (Thoubal) Municipal Council while independent candidates won four seats. In Kakching Khunou Mu
nicipal Council, Congress won one seat, BJP six and independents two. The poll results for Sugnu MC are Congress five, BJP one and others three. For Kakching MC, the figures are Congress seven, BJP three and others two. In Heirok NP, the poll results are Congress six and BJP three. For Sikhong-Sekmai NP, the figures are Congress three, BJP two and others four. In Yairipok MC, Congress won four and independents five. For Wanjing-Lamding MC, it is Congress three and independents six. In Jiribam MC, Congress party and independent candidates won five seats each. The elected Councillors of the Jiribam Municipal Council are – Lalnemung Hmar (INC) at Ward no 1; Lebio (INC) at ward No 2; Thounaojam Purnima (INC), ward no 3; K Birakumar Singh (Independent), ward no 4 ; Elangbam Ashalata Devi (INC) ward no 5; Md Nakiu Jamal Choudhury (Independent) ward no 6; Md Abdus Salam (INC), ward no 7; S Shanti Devi (Independent), ward no 8; Wangoisana (Independent), ward no 9 and Ranjana (Independent) ward no 10. The Indian National Congress (INC), securing five seats, is eyeing to form the Council at Jiribam. For Lamlai MC, the figures are BJP six and Congress three. For Andro Nagar Panchayat, it is Congress seven, BJP three and independents two. The poll results for Lamsang NP are Congress eight and others one. In Sekmai NP, Congress won seven, BJP one and others one. In Mayang Imphal MC, BJP won seven, Congress two and others four. For Lilong NP (Imphal West), the poll results are BJP one, independents four and LJP four. The figures for Wangoi MC are Congress three and others six. In Bishnupur MC, Congress won seven seats, BJP three and independents two. For Nambol MC, it is Congress five, BJP 12 and independent one. Congress won 12 seats and BJP two in Ningthoukhong MC. Congress drew blank in Kumbi MC while BJP and CPI won two seats each as independents bagged five seats. In Kwakta MC, Congress won four, BJP two and independents three. For Oinam NP, independent candidates won nine seats. In Moirang MC, BJP and Congress won six seats each. Earlier, nine Councillors and 162 WDC Members were declared elected unchallenged while Ward No 12 of Samurou NP were declared vacant as no candidates contested for the Councillor seat as well as the WDC Member seats. It is reported that counting of votes for Samurou NP and Thongkhong Lakshmi Bazar NP would continue tomorrow.